Graduate school profile for Caltech

In summary, the speaker is an undergraduate studying aerospace engineering at Texas A&M and plans to attend CalTech for grad school. They are seeking advice on what they need to have on their profile for the application, as well as how to secure a SURF (Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowship) at CalTech. They mention their GPA and express interest in the research opportunities at CalTech. They also share a forum where they found information on accepted and denied applicants to various schools, but note that it may not be relevant for aerospace engineering. They then ask for suggestions on how to get a SURF at CalTech. The speaker shares their own experience and advises that having an introduction or recommendation from a professor may increase chances of being accepted into the program
64lakers
I am an undergrad at Texas A&M, College Station studying aerospace engg. I started college this past spring and will be a sophomore this fall, meaning I start taking aerospace classes,finally! I am aiming to go to CalTech for grad school for the same, Can someone please provide what all I will need to have on my profile when I do apply. Since I had not taken any classes with my own dept my freshman year, I did not get any research there for the summer, but I have been working with CMS group at my univ for this summer.

GPA should not really be an issue, if hells falls down then maybe i drop to a 3.7 by the time I graduate, but I understand that is not enough for caltech, What really makes an Ideal profile for caltech?

Also does anyone have any idea how to get a SURF at caltech? I really want to do that, the research opportunities seem awesome, read some papers that came out from surf, i really want to do it. Any ideas on that?

Physics news on Phys.org
64lakers said: