Grad-admission at top-tier Uni: Just how difficult is it?

• Admissions
  • Thread starter marsdk
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Uni
In summary, it is not common for top US universities to accept students for a terminal masters in physics. Research experience is not required but highly recommended. It is important to carefully research universities and their strengths in specific areas before applying. In the UK, there are opportunities for international students to pursue a masters in theoretical physics. The Part III program at Cambridge is highly competitive but worth considering.
marsdk
Hello there,

I am currently studying for a Bachelor in Physics in Denmark, at the Technical University of Denmark, however the thought of taking my Master in the US has crossed my mind, and I want to ask:

Just how difficult is it to get into the top tier, internationally known universities? Is it possible with this CV:

As of now (2 years till my undergrad is over) I have all A's on the ECTS grade-scale which is the best possible, and I do think it is possible to keep that (with maybe some B's, though I hope that won't be the case).

Also I do currently work as a TA and hope to do so for the rest of my semesters as well, if that is of importance. And I really hope to be allowed to spend the next Fall at Caltech. I can go there through an exchange agreement at my university, and thus have fair chances of being admitted.

Will this be enough to be able to get in somewhere? What else is required if not? There is not really much tradition for undergraduate research where I am, though I've heard it is somewhat normal in the US, will that be a problem?

Any comments are welcome

Physics news on Phys.org