Good reading material for quantum physics?

In summary, learning abstract linear algebra is crucial in understanding quantum physics and the textbook Introduction to Quantum Mechanics by David J. Griffiths is a popular choice for physics majors. However, it still requires a solid understanding of linear algebra, multivariable calculus, Fourier analysis, partial differential equations, and probability and statistics. For beginners, books like The Structure and Interpretation of Quantum Mechanics and Quick Calculus are recommended before delving into QM Demystified.
DLHill
I am fairly new to quantum physics, I don't know much more than the double slit experiment and schrodinger's cat paradox. Can anyone tell me what would be a good subject to read about to be able to "understand" quantum physics? Superposition? Entanglement? Also, if anyone has any good suggestions for books, that would be appreciated.

Physics news on Phys.org
I think a knowledge of your mathematical and physics background would help in determining what kind of book to suggest.

The textbook Introduction to Quantum Mechanics by David J. Griffiths is extremely popular with physics majors. It's certainly not perfect, but it's my favorite introductory book.

Even an "introductory" QM book still requires linear algebra, multivariable calculus, some Fourier analysis, some partial differential equations, and a tiny bit of probability & statistics. This book does a decent job reviewing that stuff.

My most useful advice to anyone trying to understand QM is: learn abstract linear algebra! In particular, know what an inner product is and why anyone would care about the eigenvalues of a self-adjoint matrix.

Practically all of the axioms of QM are written in the language of Hilbert spaces and linear operators. If you have a solid intuition about those things, then QM is very confusing. If you don't, then QM is hopelessly confusing; it basically looks like mystical numerology.

Matterwave said: