Good precalculus and calculus book for a beginner for physic

In summary, a good precalculus and calculus book for a beginner in physics should cover the fundamentals of algebra, trigonometry, and calculus in a clear and concise manner. It should also include relevant examples and practice problems to aid in understanding and application. A well-structured and comprehensive book can serve as a strong foundation for further studies in physics and related fields.
Stiernspetz
Hi

I'm 16 years old, the physics and maths in school is really easy and it quickly becomes boring. So I wish to study outside of school, can you please recommend me some good books on calculus?

I am a beginner in the subject and only know the big picture of what calculus actually is, so nothing too advanced please, but still challenging.

Thanks in advance.

Physics news on Phys.org
Michael Spivak's Calculus is quiet challenging, his The Hitchhiker's guide to Calculus should be easy enough as a first introduction (it is better to regard it as a companion). Personally, I used Stewart's Calculus as a first exposure. Also have a look at these lectures from MIT OpenCourseware:
As well as Khan|Academy videos on Calc. (differential calculus then integral calculus)

Have fun!

Last edited:
Anama Skout said:
Michael Spivak's Calculus is quiet challenging. You could also try Apostol's Calculus vol.I.

OP: definitely do NOT do these if you're new to calculus.

micromass said:
OP: definitely do NOT do these if you're new to calculus.
Hahahaha, ok then :)

Anama Skout said:
Michael Spivak's Calculus is quiet challenging, his The Hitchhiker's guide to Calculus should be easy enough as a first introduction (it is better to regard it as a companion). Personally, I used Stewart's Calculus as a first exposure. Also have a look at these lectures from MIT OpenCourseware:
As well as Khan|Academy videos on Calc. (differential calculus then integral calculus)

Have fun!
Thank you. I will look into this.