Good introductory textbook for L & H dynamics?

Taylor, Classical MechanicsIn summary, for novices looking to learn about Lagrangian and Hamiltonian dynamics, it is recommended to start with a basic mechanics textbook such as Kleppner & Kolenkow. Some popular options include "Undergraduate Physics" by David Kleppner and Robert Kolenkow, and "Hamiltonian and Lagrangian Mechanics: A Coloring Book for Young Physicists" by Mark Levi. For those looking for more advanced options, some recommended books are "French, Newtonian Mechanics", "Fowles, Analytical Mechanics", "Landau & Lifschitz, Mechanics", and "Taylor, Classical Mechanics".
greswd
I'm a high school grad, my knowledge of college level physics is quite rudimentary. I would like to start learning about L & H dynamics. What textbook would you guys recommend for novices?

Physics news on Phys.org
If your knowledge of college level physics is rudimentary, I'd suggest working through a text like Kleppner & Kolenkow first.

You could try this book:

https://www.amazon.com/dp/046502811X/?tag=pfamazon01-20

Undergraduate Physics students (at least in the U.S.) typically get their first taste of Lagrangian and Hamiltonian mechanics toward the end of a mechanics course in their 3rd year.

Last edited by a moderator:
There was also the book Hamiltonian and Lagrangian Mechanics: A Coloring Book for Young Physicists. The author promised a second edition, but I don't know what happened to it.

Some of my favorite mechanics books, in order of sophistication:

French, Newtonian Mechanics
Fowles, Analytical Mechanics
Landau & Lifschitz, Mechanics

Related to Good introductory textbook for L & H dynamics?

What is L & H dynamics?

L & H dynamics refers to the study of the interaction between language and human cognition. It aims to understand how language is acquired, processed, and used by individuals.

Why is it important to have a good introductory textbook for L & H dynamics?