Going to Physics from Computer Science

In summary, the person has a B.S. in Computer Science and wants to return to school for physics. They plan on taking undergraduate courses to prepare for graduate school, but are unsure if only taking the required courses would be enough. They are also considering taking the Physics GRE to test their knowledge. The person is not discouraged by the time commitment and is excited to continue their education in physics.
rcasale42
My situation is this: I graduated with a B.S. in Computer Science in 2011 and have been working ever since. Now I'm thinking of returning to school for physics, with the ultimate goal of going to graduate school for physics. I think it's safe to assume I am not well prepared for graduate school, so I'm planning on taking under graduate courses. As part of my computer science degree I did take some physics classes, but it was so long ago I am effectively starting from scratch.

I've noticed that physics programs tend to have a set of required classes that cover the introductory material, classical mechanics, electricity and magnetism, statistical mechanics, and quantum mechanics, in addition to some electives.

My question is this, if I take the required undergraduate courses but forgo taking any electives, would that be enough to get into a graduate school (assuming I also have some research experience and recommendations) ? Would it be advisable to go into graduate school with this minimum knowledge?

I realize this will be a long process no matter. I'm just trying to get a sense of how much time would be involved.

Thanks!
Rudy

Physics news on Phys.org
rcasale42 said:
My question is this, if I take the required undergraduate courses but forgo taking any electives, would that be enough to get into a graduate school (assuming I also have some research experience and recommendations) ?