Future in Physics? A Student's Questions

In summary, the individual is a community college student with a passion for astrophysics. They have struggled academically due to severe clinical depression, but are determined to transfer to UC Santa Barbara. They wonder about the possibility of transferring with a 3.1 GPA and the potential for success in upper division physics. They also question the possibility of getting into a good graduate school from a lesser known school. Despite a low GPA, their transfer application is strong and they have experience as the president of the school's astrophysics club. They seek advice on whether to switch to an English major or engineering, with the understanding that becoming a professional astronomer is highly competitive.
zsyed94
Sorry for the long post, but I'm in a tricky situation and have a lot of questions. I am a community college student who wants a career in astrophysics. My end goal is to contribute to scientific knowledge doing research, but my focus is on being a popularizer of science, teaching in some way to the public and hopefully inspiring people to want to learn. Here is the snag, though: I have always been impeded academically by severe clinical depression, even if I didn't always know it. I tanked my first year at this school with B's and a C in my major courses, started getting professional help while taking time off of class, and then came back to school after a semester. I've taken three classes in the last two semesters, and have B's in all three..two of them were elective courses that I didn't even need and one was Linear Algebra. I'm in a position now where if I can get straight A's in my current courses, I can TAG to UC Santa Barbara and be on my way. If not, though, where can I transfer with a 3.1 GPA? And if I'm struggling now in the easier courses, am I setting myself up for failure in upper division physics? Or let's say I get better as a student but not in time for this semesters transfer apps; can