Finding the Thevenin Equivalent with a dependent source

In summary: I need to take the 3U voltage source into account when solving for the open circuit voltage over R.In summary, the 3U voltage source affects the open circuit voltage over R.
butchsd
Hi!

I'm having some difficulty understanding how to go about solving the following problem. I'm a beginner at this and am completely lost. I've seen a few similar problems that could be solved with node/current analysis, but I don't really understand if or how to apply that here.
Can someone please help me?

Homework Statement
From the attached image:
Is = 2.0∠0° A
R = 10[itex]\Omega[/itex]
Z = j10[itex]\Omega[/itex]

Attachments

• pic.png
    pic.png
    1.5 KB · Views: 459
Physics news on Phys.org
butchsd said:
Hi!

I'm having some difficulty understanding how to go about solving the following problem. I'm a beginner at this and am completely lost. I've seen a few similar problems that could be solved with node/current analysis, but I don't really understand if or how to apply that here.
Can someone please help me?

Homework Statement
From the attached image:
Is = 2.0∠0° A
R = 10[itex]\Omega[/itex]
Z = j10[itex]\Omega[/itex]

Hi butchsd, Welcome to Physics Forums.

You'll have to show some attempt at the problem before we can see how to help you. At the very least you can describe your understanding of Thevenin (and Norton) equivalents, the 'usual' procedure for finding them, and why this particular circuit is giving you difficulty.

One hint that you might find useful here and in future is that for a given circuit, if you divide the Thevenin voltage by the Norton current you get the Thevenin (and Norton) impedance.

Here's what I have (or think I have) so far:

An open circuit analysis shows that the current over R is Is:
IR = 2.0∠0° A.
Voc = IR * R = 2.0∠0° * 10∠0° = 20∠0° A..

Closing the circuit from a to b and doing current division shows: