Engineering PhD Advice Required

In summary, the conversation discusses a person's consideration of pursuing a PhD in engineering due to having no clear direction in life. They have had a decrease in motivation and work ethic but still expect to do well in their integrated masters program. They are unsure about their chances of getting into a PhD program and are concerned about their lack of experience and goals. The conversation also mentions specific types of PhD programs and the person's worries about their referees' views on their lack of direction.
vysethecoward
I'm kind considering doing a PhD in engineering mainly because I have no idea what else to do with my life. I don't plan on being a researcher but I am happy delaying real life by 3 to 4 years.

My questions:

1. I am doing an integrated masters. Until just less than halfway through my final bachelors year I was a very good student (I even got an award for my first year results and a scholarship later on) but my motivation and work ethic plummeted to joke levels (after being nothing special initially) and haven't recovered. I didn't do well on my bachelors thesis (got a lower second).

I'm in my masters year now. Half of my credits in my first term are from a course where you have to do two research papers. In my first one, worth 30 % of the course's grade, I procrastinated a tonne, handed in utter crap, and miraculously got an OKish grade (upper second). My second one is due in just under two weeks which is enough time to work extremely hard and hand in something reasonable.

I mention those because they're my only research experiences and I'll end up being nothing special with respect to those. However, I'm pretty sure I'll get a 1st for my degree overall.

How ****ed / un****ed am I? I am too embarrassed to ask any of my lecturers for references, although if I put in a huge amount of effort with this current assignment then I'd be ok from an academic point of view with this lecturer.