Electrical Engineering and Physics, or an intership

In summary: The most helpful path would be to study Electrical Engineering with a physics minor, since you will gain a better fundamental understanding of what is happening in the course and be able to do calculations more easily. If you want to go into industry, it would be helpful to have some computer science skills, as most jobs in industry require good programming ability. Two years of an internship would be helpful, as it would give you experience in the industry you are interested in. Thanks for the questions!
pete5383
Hey everyone. I'm an Electrical Engineering student, just finished my freshmen year, and now I'm trying to do decide what to do. In the next couple years, I'll have a glut of extra credits (I'll be taking around 10 credits a semester and my university says 13 is full time, and recommends 16 a semester) because of AP credits and some Lib. Ed. classes I'd take and what not. Anyways, I'm thinking about of what to with my extra classes and have some ideas. I plan on going to grad school either right after I get my BS or soon after.

1. Electrical Engineering and Physics (with Engineering emphasis) double major. I'm looking at a double major with physics, hopefully I can get a better fundamental understanding of what's happening in EE, and get a leg-up on the job market. I've looked at how difficult it would be, and think I could do it. I've always liked physics, and was thinking maybe it would help on the understanding level.

2. Electrical Engineering and intership. My college offers "Industrial Assignment" where they basically set you up with an intership your junior and senior year. How much help would two years of experience be when I'm done with school?

3. EE and lots and lots of electives. My other idea is just to take as many EE classes I possibly can, even if it won't get me an extra degree or anything, but just for the pure desire to learn about EE.