Does Light Have a Measurable Density?

In summary, photons have no mass because they are made up of energy and that energy is solely due to how light behaves.
Niflheim
What is the density of light?

I'm relatively new to Physics and very new to the forum, so please forgive any (potentially) hilarious mistakes or stupidity in my question, knowledge, and use of the thread.

But really, what is the density of light? Light is a particle like anything else, and all particles have a density, so what is it? How does it impact light's interactions with matter/energy/fields? Are any of light's properties dependent on its density? Do different light particles have different densities? Any answers/insight would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks for any/all replies!

Likes Symmetry777
Science news on Phys.org
Welcome to PF!

If you are talking about mass density, no, light does not have mass so it doesn't have density.

Likes Symmetry777
Thanks!

When you say that light has no mass, do you mean literally, or in the same way that we say the electron adds no mass to an atom? If the former, than how can it exist as a particle without mass? Is the particle just a grouped together bunch of light waves or something?

Likes Symmetry777
Likes Beenigma and Symmetry777
Photons are among the gauge bosons with zero invariant mass. Electrons have mass 0.511 MeV/c^2, 9.10×10−31 kg

Likes Symmetry777
Interesting. And yes I know electrons have mass, I thought you meant that they had a near zero mass.

Thanks so much for the replies! I'm off to look into the zero mass particles now, they seem interesting.

You might want to read about wave-particle duality to expand your understanding.

Likes Symmetry777
Niflheim said:
Thanks!

When you say that light has no mass, do you mean literally, or in the same way that we say the electron adds no mass to an atom? If the former, than how can it exist as a particle without mass? Is the particle just a grouped together bunch of light waves or something?