Distance Education for Physics

In summary, Balu wants to learn physics so that he can do a PhD. He thinks that a course is necessary to learn the material, but he is willing to self-study if it is structured well.
uuurrrgh
Hi all,

I am an employed graduate in Electronics and Communication Engineering (Master of Science from UK, Bachelor of Technology from India). I wish to study and obtain an undergraduate/graduate degree in physics through distance education (anywhere) or part time in India. I happened to go across a few while doing some search on my own.

1. Open University - The fees is pretty high and the B.A/B.Sc Physics course is not available in India.
2. A few open universities in India like Madhya Pradesh Open Univ, Netaji Subhas Open Univ etc. But I am not sure if they are quite good.
3. I also saw a lot of certificate/diploma courses along with specific subject courses like Astronomy in the Centre for Independent and Distance Learning-Univ of Oklahoma.

I would hence require advice on whether affordable (less than £1500 per year) degree courses for Physics which have sufficient content. Any alternative suggestions are welcome. Thanks in advance.

Balu

Physics news on Phys.org
Why do you want to do this? With a Master of Science in Electronics and Communication Engineering you must have covered a lot of the material in a physics course anyway, and have the intellectual ability to approach UG physics through self study. Do you need the qualification to do a physics PhD? You may be able to do that anyway, in some areas. For instance, look at:

http://www.jobs.ac.uk/job/AHS922/ma...earcher-phd-studentships-in-optics-photonics/