Determine the Rate of Change of Pressure Across a Valve

In summary, the conversation is about a software engineer seeking help to find the rate of change in pressure across a valve for a project. The engineer has some background knowledge but is struggling to find the necessary information. They discuss utilizing empirical data, optimization methods, and valve data from the manufacturer. They also consider using a flow element for pressure measurement and a flow control valve for flow control.
Purple_Dan
Hello, I am Primarily a Software Engineer, but have some background knowledge from my A-Level and Uni days.
However, I have the following problem.

I'd like to find out the rate of change in pressure across a valve.
Here are the things I know about the system:

Cv at 100% open = 0.004 (I believe it's the US coefficient)
Pressure drop across valve can be made up as this is variable within the system, let's assume 500psi for this example.
Assuming it's pure water at 25°C with a specific gravity of 1 (because I don't want to get into all that mess).

Also, am I right in thinking that if the Cv is 0.004 at 100%, then the Cv at 50% will be 0.002?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Dan

Engineering news on Phys.org
Empirical data is your best option, especially for something transient like this. Why do you need the transient data?

HuskyNamedNala said:
Empirical data is your best option, especially for something transient like this. Why do you need the transient data?

I agree, empirical data would be a great commodity to have. Unfortunately, I'm writing the code to control the valve in an office in the West Midlands and the site is in Aberdeen.

I need to control the valve to maintain a constant psi/sec drop. I was going to do a simple, "if drop is too big, close valve a bit, else open valve a bit" logic. But I thought it would be nicer to try and do it properly.