Dealing with Unexpected Absences in a Research Lab: What Should I Do?

In summary, the undergraduate student in the lab started out as a volunteer, and has been working with the postdoc on procedures. Recently, they had a conversation where the postdoc laid out end-of-semester goals and whatnot, and asked if the undergraduate student would need to take time off every time they had an exam. The undergraduate student explained to the postdoc that they were trying to manage their time better, and that it would no longer be an issue. However, last week, they had a relative that went to the hospital and the undergraduate student took the day off to visit them. When they came home, they found that the postdoc had not responded to their email, and is now worried about how he will address
Violagirl
I am an undergraduate student that started working in a research lab this semester and started out as a volunteer. It's my first research experience in a lab outside of the classroom and at this point, I have no idea how things are going. I work for the postdoc in the lab and have so far been shadowing him on the different procedures he does/that I will eventually be doing. Otherwise, I also work with the undergraduate that's been in there for a lot longer to learn the basic techniques that I'll need to know. This is where I know I only have myself to blame for taking on so much. I only go in twice a week and there have been a few days where I've had to take off with having a lot of exams/papers going on. Anyways, my postdoc and I had a conversation a few weeks ago where we laid out end-of-semester goals and whatnot and at one point, he asked if I would be needing to take off every time I'd had an exam and I explained to him at that time that I had been trying to figure out time management for each class and what-not and it would no longer be an issue. Well, last week, I had a relative that ended up going to the hospital with an unexpected health complication that came up and I e