Composition of 2 Boosts in Special Relativity

In summary, the composition of two boosts without the rotation that is induced by combining them is not a simple addition of the boost speeds. Two boosts in the same direction result in a single boost, but the relationship between the speeds is more complex. Rotations and boosts are not commutative, and the order in which they are applied affects the result. The use of gyrovector spaces to compose boosts into a pure boost may be interesting, but it is not necessary to understand special relativity.
OniLink++
Most of what I've learned about Special Relativity is self taught using Google and Wikipedia because I'm still in high school, so forgive me if I'm saying something wrong.
Does anyone have the exact equation for the composition of two boosts, without the rotation that's induced by combining two boosts (according to what I've read, a boost followed by a boost is not a pure boost but a boost followed by or preceded by a rotation, which makes sense to me because of effects like relativistic aberration). The article mentioned gyrovector spaces being used to compose two boosts into a pure boost, but I can't find any information on gyrovector spaces. Would anyone mind explaining this to me?

Physics news on Phys.org
OniLink++ said:
Most of what I've learned about Special Relativity is self taught using Google and Wikipedia because I'm still in high school, so forgive me if I'm saying something wrong.
Does anyone have the exact equation for the composition of two boosts, without the rotation that's induced by combining two boosts (according to what I've read, a boost followed by a boost is not a pure boost but a boost followed by or preceded by a rotation, which makes sense to me because of effects like relativistic aberration). The article mentioned gyrovector spaces being used to compose two boosts into a pure boost, but I can't find any information on gyrovector spaces. Would anyone mind explaining this to me?