Choosing between 2nd and 3rd tier schools

• Schools
  • Thread starter ptabor
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Schools
In summary, both Ohio University and West Virginia University offer excellent science programs and are of equal standing in rankings. The stipends are comparable, so this is not a discriminating factor. The choice comes down to personal factors such as where you want to live, etc... but in the end, go with the school that you think you will enjoy the most.
ptabor
I'm considering Ohio University (where I did my undergrad) and West Virginia University for my phd. Currently, I'm a msc student at a podunk university in Dayton, OH - Wright State U.

As far as I know, both OU and WVU are of equal standing in rankings. I know faculty at both schools, and both schools have some excellent scientists. It seems they have more of a research orientation at wvu whereas OU is more rounded.

Their stipends are comparable, so this is not a discriminating factor.

My question is that given their comparable status, which should I choose? Obviously I must consider personal factors such as where I want to live, etc... but does anyone think one school would be superior to the other?

Physics news on Phys.org
Ohio comes first alphabetically, so the obvious choice is West V.

ptabor said:
I'm considering Ohio University (where I did my undergrad) and West Virginia University for my phd. Currently, I'm a msc student at a podunk university in Dayton, OH - Wright State U.

As far as I know, both OU and WVU are of equal standing in rankings. I know faculty at both schools, and both schools have some excellent scientists. It seems they have more of a research orientation at wvu whereas OU is more rounded.

Their stipends are comparable, so this is not a discriminating factor.