Chances to transfer from CC to UIUC with mediocre GPA

In summary: NIU.In summary, the person is a sophomore at a community college with a current GPA of 3.1. They are aiming for a 4.0 this semester to increase their GPA to a 3.3. They want to transfer to the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign for their junior year to major in cellular and molecular biology. However, they have a history of struggling academically in high school with a 2.2 GPA and 21 ACT score. They also failed a class in their first semester of community college, but improved in the following semester. They live in Illinois and are also considering other state schools for potential transfer options. They have a personal connection to UIUC and it has always been
Johnyi
I want to transfer to U of I urbana champaign... but the thing is

Im a sophomore at a community college right now, and I have a 3.1 GPA currently, and if i get a 4.0 this semester i will be bumped up to a 3.3. I want to attend U of I urbana champaign starting my junior year, what are my chances?

I also failed a class my first semester, and was put on academic probation. But the very next semester i got a 3.5 and retook the failed class and got a B.

I didnt do so well in high school... 21 ACT and 2.2 GPA

I plan to major in cellular and molecular biology.

BUT... i did VERY bad in high school... 21 act and a 2.2 GPA, i just didnt have my priorities straight... but I am trying to catch up academically. I live in Illinois also.

Physics news on Phys.org
First thing that came to mind is this: Why UIUC? If you want to stay within Illinois to get favorable tuition, why not other state schools that might give you a better chance of getting in?

Zz.

It was just always my dream to go to UIUC, family members went there, i visited and had a great time.

I do also plan to apply to UIC/ISU

Related to Chances to transfer from CC to UIUC with mediocre GPA