Can a retired dentist become a physics major at 65?

• Thread starter scratchman287
  • Start date
In summary, it is possible for a retired dentist to become a physics major at the age of 65. While it may be challenging, with determination and hard work, individuals of any age can pursue a new field of study. Many universities offer flexible programs and resources for older students, making it feasible for a retired professional to embark on a new academic journey in physics. Additionally, the life experience and skills gained from being a dentist may prove to be valuable assets in understanding and applying physics concepts.
scratchman287
Hello, my name is Neil, and I am just three months shy of my 60th birthday. I am a dentist who is retired from active practice but still works part-time as a consultant. I interrupted my dental consulting career to be a programmer for a few years. I am married for 30+ years and have three adult children. All this begs the question: “Dude, what are you doing here?” Caution: absurdly long new member intro follows.

At eight years old I took a wrong turn when I declared I wanted to be a dentist. Our family dentist had taken me into his dental laboratory and shown me all the cool equipment, then gave me a stack of pink baseplate wax (https://tinyurl.com/y7z7x3em). That did it for me. I’ve told everyone since who asks why I became a dentist, and I tell them, “Pink baseplate wax”.

Now, looking back over my life, I realize that I should have gone into math & physics. I’m still captivated by both subjects, but my development so far wouldn’t even rank me as an amateur mathematician or amateur physicist; more like the dopey kid looking into the classroom through the classroom door window. I hope to change that.