Calculation of Permissible Jib Crane Load

In summary: Once the proper design details are obtained, the maximum bending moment in the column can be calculated using the load weight and length of the beam. This moment can then be compared to the section properties of the beam to determine the load required to fail it. A safety factor of five is recommended, but a smaller factor may be used for more advanced design skills. If the beam is hinged, the section properties and capacity will be smaller. It is recommended to consult a professional engineer for this type of design and the thread is now closed.
Day Radebaugh
Please redirect if this post is not in the right place.

I want to install a jib crane in my shop. Vertical upright is planned to be a 5" H-beam in concrete, with 12' above ground, 4' into rock below grade level. Horizontal beam will be same, 10' long. (See attached figure)

Am trying to calculate permissible load at end of horizontal beam.

I'm not an engineer. can you suggest a reference an amateur might use to calculate the load?

Thanks

Day Radebaugh

Attachments

• JibCrane.doc
    61 KB · Views: 1,161
Engineering news on Phys.org
Not enough information here to complete the design. Need to know the nature of the connection between the column and the beam, which of the H-beams you are using, and its material. This is not an offer to do the design for you, but these are important things to know before proceeding further. I'd also want to know if the beam is hinged at that connection point or not.

Your big concern assuming that all other details are correctly designed is the maximum bending moment, which will be in the column and equal to the product of the load weight and the ten feet. That will give you a moment in ft-lbf.