Bs math + ms ee vs (bs + ms) ee?

• Thread starter 1230wc
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Ee
In summary, the person is a sophomore but is almost a year ahead. They have two options: 1) to pursue a BS in Math and a MS in Coterm EE, which will take two more years and is already covered by their undergrad financial aid, or 2) to pursue a BS and Coterm MS in EE, which requires almost a year more of classes than Math and will take three more years, with no undergrad financial aid for the final year. The first option takes less time and money, but the person is concerned about not having an ABET-accredited BS in EE and how it may affect their chances for a PhD in EE or government jobs. It may only be an issue if they are applying for jobs that
1230wc
im a sophomore but almost a yr ahead. I've 2 options:

1) bs math + ms coterm ee (signals or controls)
- already close to a bs math
- takes 2 more yrs so gets covered by my undergrad finaid.

2) (bs + coterm ms) ee
- bs ee requires almost a yr more of classes than math
- takes 3 more yrs, no undergrad finaid for final yr

1) takes less time and money but will i lose out on anything by not having a ABET bs ee? will i get hurt applying to ee phd or seeking gov jobs (accredition issues)?

thanks all :)

Physics news on Phys.org
1230wc said:
takes less time and money but will i lose out on anything by not having a ABET bs ee? will i get hurt applying to ee phd or seeking gov jobs (accredition issues)?
Only if you go for jobs that want to see it/want you to become a PE. This may be an issue for some government infrastructure jobs, I don't know. Go to their jobsites and see what they require for job applicants.

Related to Bs math + ms ee vs (bs + ms) ee?

1. What is the difference between a BS in Math and MS in EE vs a BS and MS in EE?