BS in Mathematics MS in Software Engineering?

In summary: All of these areas require engineers and all of them sit in front of a computer for most of their work day.In summary, the person is considering pursuing a Master's degree in software engineering after graduating with a BS in Mathematics and taking a semester off to job search. They have also looked into engineering fields, particularly software engineering, due to their interest in problem solving. However, they are concerned about their lack of programming experience and whether they are at a disadvantage. They have purchased
SMA_01
I graduated in December 2013 with a BS in Mathematics (minor in Applied Statistics). I have taken this semester off to job search and think over things before pursuing a Master's degree.
Originally, I was planning on going for a Master's in Mathematics and try to get a job as an instructor at a college/university teaching lower level math courses (calculus, etc).
I talked to one of my professors a few weeks ago and he advised me to not go towards the academia route, because it's hard to get a job (I'm guessing this especially applies to me because I am not looking into a PhD at the moment). He told me to look into a related, applied field like statistics.
I'm not interested much in statistics, and considering I enjoy problem solving, I've decided to look into the engineering field, particularly software engineering.
I've looked into the program at the same school I completed my undergrad, they have a MS in Software Engineering program and I would be able to complete it in about 3 years.
The thing is, I feel like I'm at a major disadvantage because I don't know much programming.