As a college sophmore, what should my approach be for writing a research paper?

In summary: You can also look into summer research opportunities.You can do research during the school year (which is...almost over) if you have enough time. You can also look into summer research opportunities.
gikiian
I want to write a research paper on general relativity or mathematical physics.

I am a college freshman (will become sophomore after this summer) belonging to an engineering major. In this summer break, I have managed to learn about tensors. Currently, I am following the Respected Professor Leonard Susskind's lectures on General Relativity via youtube.

Before the end of my holidays, I plan to write a simple research paper on mathematical physics or general relativity. Regarding my goals, i want to ask a few simple questions:

1. How should i approach? Are there any initial tips you would like to recommend?
2. How should I choose a topic for my paper, especially when i want it to be simple, but have a choice of complex subjects to write on?

Thanks.

Physics news on Phys.org
I suggest you wait until you graduate, and pick a supervisor/school that is very active in research in your specific area.

I'll give what I understand as a basic guide to publishing,
1. study subject formally and graduate
2. familiarise yourself with all relevant literature
3. identify a gap in this literature and research it
4. write up your findings and submit it to a journal

It's pretty hard to do any of these steps without having done the step before. I suggest you keep working hard and talk to your tutor/course supervisor about when and where to begin looking for postgraduate options.

Step 2 from MikeyW's post is the most important. http://arxiv.org/ will give you a great resource to read papers from the field. I try to get through at least one paper a day, but it's pretty difficult. Lectures certainly wouldn't prepare you to write a research paper...