Any benefit to a Mech Eng. learning CNC machining?

In summary, the individual has recently graduated with a BSME degree and is currently working as a Mech. Engineer. They have enrolled in a CNC machining certificate course at a local community college to further their knowledge in the subject. The main reason for taking this course is to learn and gain more insight into the field. The cost for the course is $2600 per semester, but the individual is able to pay in cash without taking out a loan. They believe that this course will benefit them in their current job by helping them design more efficient parts for manufacturing. However, it is uncertain if having knowledge in G code and MasterCam will look good on a resume for future engineering jobs. Others suggest that it may not be necessary as these tasks are
2slowtogofast
I graduated 18 months ago with my BSME degree and currently work full time as a Mech. Engineer. I enrolled in night school at a local community college to take a CNC machining certificate course this spring. The course is 2 semesters long and focuses on opereation of CNC equiptment mostly lathes and mills, programming CNC equipment using G code and learning MasterCam. The main reason I chose to do this is because I am interested in learning the subject. However it costs $2600 per semester. Which is not a lot of money but not really cheap either. I finshed paying off my loans from my bachelors degree so I am not in any debt and I can pay cash for both semesters without having to take out a loan. Is this somthing that could look good on a resume or help me become better at my job or is the satisfaction of learning somthing I am interested in the only benefit I will get from this class.