Advice for Sophomore w/Low GPA

• Thread starter lightningmil
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Gpa
In summary: In terms of research, you should definitely get involved in undergraduate research. This will help you develop the necessary skills and connections that will help you get involved in research after you graduate.
lightningmil
Hi physics community,

I am a sophomore in college right now and my GPA is low. Like 2.5 low. I think the lack of passion in learning intro-level physics courses really messed me up (right now I am in modern physics, though, and I find it pretty interesting and fun). I thought I wanted to do more of the astrophysics side of the space science and exploration, but I think I am more into the planetary science/geophysics side.

Anyways, the problem I have is that my GPA is too low to transfer into the geology school and I don't really know how to study for upper level physics (and I guess any level physics since I got C's in mechanics and E&M). That, and I don't feel motivated to work really hard for classes I have no interest in. Astronomy is really cool which is the root of why I would do planetary science and not just Earth sciences or something along those lines, but my stellar astronomy class is pretty boring to me. I only really listen when the lecture has something to do with planets. I am pretty sure I will stick with my physics/astro degrees, though, because of time but I just wanted to know your opinions on my situation.