Advice for a Conflicted ME Student

In summary, Clope023, I think you should focus on taking courses in circuits and electronics, and maybe specializing in some field related to both. Specializing in electronics may be easier to do since you have a background in it, but circuits can be useful in many different areas of engineering.
BioChance
Hello everyone,

I am a masters student 1/3 of the way through the mechanical engineering program at my school. At some point I have come to the realization that I am really not that mechanically inclined. It seems I have natural tendency towards circuit design and electronics.

I really enjoy doing circuit analysis, building, and testing devices and for some reason I come alive when I'm doing it. It seems a little too late for me to switch over at this point as I do not have enough of a background to jump into a graduate EE or ECE program and financially it would be impractical at this time as I am already barrowing money and can't afford to take on extra coursework needed to complete such a degree. As a result I have decided to stick it out, but I find I am having to force myself to stay interested at times.

Sometimes I feel a bit concerned that will not have enough intrinsic to keep me going in this field after graduation. I don't know why I can't seem get the same level of wonder and excitment out of mechanical subjects and projects that I get from electronics. There's a concern that this may hold me back from being an exceptional engineer. Any words of advice for someone in my situation?

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org
*intrinsic motivation*

Could you possibly specialize in some field with elements of both? For instance, robotics or control systems.

axmls said:
Could you possibly specialize in some field with elements of both? For instance, robotics or control systems.