Additional prerequisites for General Relativity

In summary, the prerequisites for studying General Relativity include a strong foundation in calculus, linear algebra, and classical mechanics, as well as knowledge of special relativity and differential geometry. General Relativity is a complex theory that requires a solid understanding of advanced mathematics, such as tensor calculus and differential geometry. It is a more comprehensive and accurate theory of gravity compared to Newton's theory, and has been confirmed by several experiments. General Relativity is widely used in modern scientific research, particularly in areas such as cosmology, astrophysics, and gravitational wave detection.
Alok Shah
I am thinking of taking a course on General Theory of Relativity in the next semester of college. My major is in aerospace engineering. I have already completed courses on Calculus, Differential equations, Linear Algebra, and also have a fair bit of idea about tensor calculus.
What other prior knowledge would help me understand the course better ?

Physics news on Phys.org
Greg Bernhardt said:
Have you covered any Special Relativity?
No I haven't. How much time should it normally take to learn Special Relativity if I devote about 3-4 hours every day ?

Differential geometry should also be a consideration...

As an aerospace engineer, taking a course on General Theory of Relativity is a great way to expand your knowledge and understanding of the fundamental principles of space and time. In addition to the courses you have already completed in Calculus, Differential Equations, Linear Algebra, and tensor calculus, there are a few other prerequisites that can help you better understand General Relativity.

Firstly, a strong background in classical mechanics and electromagnetism would be beneficial. General Relativity builds upon these theories and understanding their principles will provide a solid foundation for learning about gravity and spacetime.