A writer's (not a physicist's) question

• Thread starter davewe
  • Start date
In summary, the conversation discusses a writer's character who is a young physicist and a very smart one. The character is driving with his grandfather, who is driving at a high speed and taking sharp turns without using brakes. The physicist wants to use a physics formula to calculate the possibility of the car going off the cliff. They discuss the importance of knowing the radius of the curve and the coefficient of friction in determining the speed at which the car would go off the cliff. The writer also mentions that turns are often banked for this reason. They also mention personal experiences with reckless driving.
davewe
I'm hoping someone can indulge me here. I'm a writer and wannabe novelist working on a satirical thriller.

I have a character who's a young physicist and a VERY smart one. At the beginning of the story he's driving with his grandfather, a wild old coot. The grandfather is driving his Porsche at 90mph and takes a dramatic curve on a guardrailed road overlooking a precipitous drop. He does not use his brakes. It's a game for the old guy.

Our young physicist freaks out. Using a physics formula (momentum?) I want him to be able to tell the grandfather that with the weight of the car, wheelbase length, at a certain speed, the car would have gone off the cliff. Could this be done? IOW, I want him to say "Considering that momentum is mass times velocity, and considering this Porsche is 3120 lbs. with a width of 71" and a wheelbase of 92.5", at 92 mph we would have inevitably gone off the cliff." Is it possible to determine this and what might a formula be?

Thanks for any info you can provide.

Dave

Physics news on Phys.org
Welcome to PF.