Zero-point energy and QED vacuum state

In summary: The author suggests that the relationship between velocity \vec{v} and \vec{k} can be either \vec{v} = \pm \vec{k}/\omega, but I don't understand that explanation, either.K-G eq is a wave eq. and its solutions must be plane waves. The above sols. are incoming and outgoing plane waves and that is the difference of 1 & 2. say.Sol 3 & 4 are negative energy sols. they that must not be there but they are the concequence of the K-G eq.
JG1009
I'm relatively new to QFT and was wondering how the QED vacuum has a dormant zero average-field condition if there is a zero-point energy of the field as well? How is there a zero average and a zero point energy?

Physics news on Phys.org
JG1009 said:
I'm relatively new to QFT and was wondering how the QED vacuum has a dormant zero average-field condition if there is a zero-point energy of the field as well? How is there a zero average and a zero point energy?

The existence of actual zero point energy is open to question. In QFT its usually eliminated by something called normal ordering.

But if you want to read a detailed discussion of it see:
http://users.ox.ac.uk/~lina0174/vacuum.pdf

I don't entirely agree with the above - for example I believe you can explain the Casmir effect without ZPE.

Thanks
Bill

JG1009 said:

The zero-point energy is due to quantum fluctuations so it doesn't show up in the average energy.

JG1009 said: