Would this work to decrease air resistance in sports cars?

In summary: This enables the craft to expeditiously travel through air, space or water.The idea is impractical because of the high voltage required to generate a field strong enough to magnetically curve the space around the craft.
Max Mycroft
Okay so here is my idea, not really sure how well (if at all) it would work but I am wondering if it would be possible (assuming battery technology is good enough) to ionise air in front of a formula 1 car (or plane or whatever) giving it a charge (like the way lightning works) , then creating an opposite charge on struts projecting out to the side of the car. This would pull particles in the air out of the way of the car, and create lower air resistance.

The only real issue I can see is the weight the battery would add with current technology, but I really want to know if there isa anything wrong with the concept?

Tell me what you think...

ps I'm only taking a level so I'm no expert and I'm sure there are flaws in my idea

Physics news on Phys.org
You still have to move the air out of the way. If it is done through electrostatic means or by physical contact will likely make little difference.

The idea you are talking about would require energy and add weight. I suspect that energy would be better spent on propulsion if the objective is speed. If the objective is efficiency then the weight would be better spent on increased KERS capacity.

but ignoring the weight, in theory it would work?

There'should two kinds of drag: skin friction and pressure drag. Pressure drag is "moving the air out of the way". It depends on the speed and mass flow rate (momentum) of the air. Since you can't change either with this, you can'think reduce that drag.

Skin friction drag is exactly what it sounds like. If you move the air away from the skin, you might succeed in reducing that, but probably at the expense of pressure drag due to moving the air out of the way more.