Would EE be the right choice for me?

• Thread starter jkface
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Choice Ee
In summary, if you are interested in energy sources, quantum computing, and anything in the field of science fiction, EE would be a good choice for you. Other majors may also be an option, but would come with different pros and cons. Fun activities while studying EE may include working on a research project or participating in a hackathon.
jkface
I'm a 1st year college student who is strongly considering EE as my major. I am very interested in energy sources (nuclear fusion), quantum computing, and pretty much anything that might show up on science fiction movies/novels. At the moment, I am thinking about majoring in EE as an undergrad and going for physics in grad school. I know my question is pretty vague, but would EE be the right choice for me? do you recommend any other major? last but not least, what is the most fun thing you did while studying EE?

Engineering news on Phys.org
jkface said:
I'm a 1st year college student who is strongly considering EE as my major. I am very interested in energy sources (nuclear fusion), quantum computing, and pretty much anything that might show up on science fiction movies/novels. At the moment, I am thinking about majoring in EE as an undergrad and going for physics in grad school. I know my question is pretty vague, but would EE be the right choice for me? do you recommend any other major? last but not least, what is the most fun thing you did while studying EE?

These subjects of interest could be EE or Physics depending on the focus and likely have a lot of overlap in any case. Since these particular technologies are "not technological viable" just yet (fusion has been the "next big thing" since the 1950s, and quantum computers are on the cusp of reality but could still flop completely), these are a bit more in the physics side at the moment.