Working on Cannonball simulator

• Thread starter Pain
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Simulator
In summary, the goal of the conversation is to create a catapult mini-game using physics and math. The speaker is a hobbyist game programmer who is struggling to understand the physics behind it. They have tried using resources and comparing their code to others but have not been successful. They are now seeking outside help and have downloaded a working code to compare. The game is not set up for animating projectile paths, so the speaker is using visual effects instead. They are also using a language similar to C++ but with limited features. They are also interested in adding crosswinds to the game.
Pain
Well the goal is actually a catapult mini-game, but its the same thing as the cannonball trajectory on every tutorial site out there.

I am a hobbyist game programmer, and i spend a lot of time developing features for Neverwinter Nights 2 - and adding features to Community Script Library which i maintain as a resource for other programmers of that game. I really don't have enough math background for this, well it's not that i don't know math as i do a lot of advanced math, it's that i don't know how to read the physics formula and never took calculus, and i am reading and re-reading physics for dummies ( which has a page showing a cannonball ), and comparing my code to any open code i can compare what i have to. I am a bit frustrated as i started trying to figure this out over a year ago, and it's still not working, and i usually just am able to get things working through trial and error and determination.

At this point i think i need to just get some outside help to aim myself in the right direction. Just downloaded a working java programs source code, comparing it to what i have shown, and seeing similar logic.