Working in Physics Research/Industry w/o a PhD (UK)

In summary, an undergraduate with a BSc in Theoretical and Computational Physics can potentially do an extra year as an undergraduate and come out with an MSci/MPhys degree, but this would mean graduating when they are 32 or 33 which is too old for some families. If the undergraduate only wants to do a PhD, there are many jobs around that are suitable for someone with just a BSc.
FaraDazed
I live in the UK and I am an undergraduate at the moment, due to graduate in 2017 with a BSc in Theoretical and Computational Physics.

I have the option at the end of the next academic year to do an extra year as an undergraduate and come out with an MSci/MPhys (instead of the BSc) . I am already 26, and would be 28 when I graduate in 2017, or would be 29 if I chose to do that extra year.

I really would like to do a PhD, but that would mean graduating with a PhD when I turn 32/33! So the only thing making me think otherwise is simply how old I would be.

If I chose to just graduate in 2017 with a BSc, are there many jobs around actually in the physics research/industry for people with just a BSc? Anything really where I would actually get to use my degree, even if it was like a technician or even something like a patent attorney etc, but actually doing/helping with science?

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
If it is only your age that is of concern and you do not feel or need to provide for a family, why not test the employment waters with some applications, but also apply to stay in school so if you do not get a premium job offer, you continue your education?

Likes atyy
Dr. Courtney said:
If it is only your age that is of concern and you do not feel or need to provide for a family, why not test the employment waters with some applications, but also apply to stay in school so if you do not get a premium job offer, you continue your education?