What is Tensor Calculus?

In summary: That's where the "a few people in the world know how to do this" bit comes in. Tensors can be used to solve problems in relativistic and non-relativistic mechanics, energy, fluid dynamics, and more.
QuantumDefect
Im only in second semester calculus and my friend keeps on babbling about Tensor Calculus and how only a few people know how to do it in the world. I highly doubt that only a few people in the world know how to do this because there are plenty of math graduates out there, as well as professors. Can anyone tell me what exactly it is and the problems its meant to solve? Thank you.

Physics news on Phys.org
If you look closely you will see a sub-forum titled "Tensor Analysis and Differential Geometry" just three places down from this. A "tensor" is a generalization of vector. It can be applied to just about any kind of problem that vectors can. As long as you are dealing with Euclidean space (curvature 0) you might as well just use vectors but problems involving curved surfaces or spaces (such as general relativity) use tensors.

As HallsofIvy said, you should look in the Tensor Analysis and Differential Geometry forum. If you take Calculus III or Advaced Calculus you'll find out what they are. As HallsofIvy said as well, tensors are an 'abstraction' of the whole concept of vectors. I've used tensors to solve some problems in mechanics, like when dealing with stresses on some object (where you have to work with a so-called stress tensor).

e(ho0n3