WKB Approximation with V-Shaped well

In summary, the conversation discusses using the WKB method to find the bound state energies of a particle in a V-shaped potential well. The participant asks questions about the validity of their approach, specifically regarding the calculation of the momentum term and the determination of the turning point. They are advised to check their equations and consider using a sketch to visualize the problem.
DeldotB

Homework Statement

Good day all!
I'm studying for finals and i'd like to know how to do this problem (its not homework):

"Using the WKB method, find the bound state energies [itex] E_n [/itex] of a particle of mass m in a V-shaped potential well:

[itex]V(x)=
\begin{Bmatrix}
-V_0 (1- \begin{vmatrix}
\frac{x}{a}
\end{vmatrix})\: \: -a<x<a\\
0 \: \: \: if \: \: \: \: \: \: x\notin (-a,a)

\end{Bmatrix} [/itex] where [itex]V_0[/itex] and [itex]a[/itex] are positive constants.

What is the energy of the highest bound state?

Homework Equations

WKB approximation for "potential with no vertical walls":

[itex] \int_{x_1}^{x_2} p(x)dx=(n-\frac{1}{2})\pi \hbar [/itex]

Here [itex]x_1,x_2 [/itex] are the classical "turning points" i.e to find them I set [itex]p(x)=0[/itex] and solve for x

The Attempt at a Solution

Well, if its a bound state, then [itex] E < V [/itex], so the wave function is "in" the well.
[tex] p(x)=\frac{\sqrt{2m(V-E)}}{\hbar}=\frac{\sqrt{2m(-V_0(1-|\frac{x}{a}|)-E))}}{\hbar} [/tex]
Thus the integral is:

[itex] \int_{x_1}^{x_2} \frac{\sqrt{2m(V-E)}}{\hbar}=\int_{x_1}^{x_2} \frac{\sqrt{2m(-V_0(1-|\frac{x}{a}|)-E))}}{\hbar} dx=(n-\frac{1}{2})\pi \hbar [/itex]

So a few question arise:

Is my p(x) term correct? In this case is it: [tex]p(x)=\frac{\sqrt{2m(V-E)}}{\hbar}[/tex] OR [tex]p(x)=\frac{\sqrt{2m(E-V)}}{\hbar} [/tex]?

Also, the well is symmetrical, so I can just to the integral: