What is the Freeze-Out Temperature of WIMP Particles?

happyparticle
TL;DR Summary
Is the epoch of freeze-out temperature for wimps particles is the same as for neutrinos.
Why the wimps freeze-out happened earlier.
I'm studying the freeze-out moment of different particles and I have few questions that I can't find answer about the Wimp particles.

First of all, the freeze-out temperature of the wimp particles is around 0.4-40gev much higher than 1 mev for the neutrinos.
Thus, that means that the freeze-out moment for the wimp particles happened earlier, but why exactly? It it related with the mass of the wimp particles?

Also, does it means that the freeze-out moment happened during the radiation dominated epoch?

secondly, are the wimp particles moving at the speed of light, because I see that in the relation "rate of scattering-Hubble parameter" they use v=c=1.

For example, https://itp.uni-frankfurt.de/~philipsen/homepage_files/graz.pdf the author seems to use c=1. I might be wrong though.
Also, using the relation in the link above (p.10) ##n G_f^2 m_q^2 = \frac{T^2}{m_p}##, I don't see how the author get a relation for the temperature-mass using his expression, same for the neutrinos.

There are a lot of questions. I hope they are clear.

Thanks

Space news on Phys.org
Freeze out happens when T ≈ m.

Vanadium 50 said:
Freeze out happens when T ≈ m.
Someone should tell the CNB neutrinos ... 😏

• Haha
Likes Vanadium 50
happyparticle said:
First of all, the freeze-out temperature of the wimp particles is around 0.4-40gev much higher than 1 mev for the neutrinos.
First of all, you should write your units appropriately. There is a difference between GeV and gev and there is a difference between MeV and mev, which may be misunderstood as meV (which is 9 orders of magnitude smaller than MeV).

happyparticle said:
Thus, that means that the freeze-out moment for the wimp particles happened earlier, but why exactly? It it related with the mass of the wimp particles?