Will older age factor affect my ability to get tenured?

• Thread starter diligence
  • Start date
  • Tags
In summary, being 10 years older than your peers might not be a major issue when it comes to gaining tenure in a mathematics professor position.
diligence
Hey all,

I'm a non-traditional student. I won't even begin graduate school until I'm 32 or 33. As of now, my plan is to become a mathematics professor (yes i know the slim statistics and no i don't want to dwell on that), and I'm wondering, will being ~10 years older than my peers affect my ability to gain tenure?

Physics news on Phys.org
My friends in math have always told me there is a strong bias towards people in their mid to late 30s. Not just getting tenure- finding a university position anywhere might be tough.

It is illegal to discriminate by age in the US.

It is tough to get a faculty job anywhere. You age is the least of your problems.

It is tough to get a faculty job anywhere. You age is the least of your problems.

Vanadium 50 said:

Only if you are over 40. See 29 U.S.C. § 631(a)) http://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/29/631%28a%29.html

And public universities are exempt from the ADEA under state sovereign immunity. Google for Kimel v. Florida Bd. Of Regents

42 USC 6103 prohibits age discrimination in education receiving federal funding, but subsection (b)(1)(A) allows a program to take into account age if it is necessary to the normal operation of any statutory objective or if you can find some reasonable factor other than age.

Last edited by a moderator:
diligence said:
I won't even begin graduate school until I'm 32 or 33. As of now, my plan is to become a mathematics professor (yes i know the slim statistics and no i don't want to dwell on that), and I'm wondering, will being ~10 years older than my peers affect my ability to gain tenure?

I think you are going to be doing spectacularly well if you get to the point where this even becomes an issue.