Why when two conductors connected by a conducting wire gain the same potential?

In summary: trying to say is that the potential difference (voltage) between the two spheres will stay the same no matter how much current is flowing through the wire connecting them.
nishantve1
Why when two charged conductors connected by a conducting wire gain the same potential .
Lets say we have two spheres of different charges why when we connect them by a single copper wire they gain the same potential
Thanks in advance

Physics news on Phys.org
hi nishantve1! :wink:

tell us what you think, and then we'll comment! :smile:

I am new to Electrostatics , first of all I have no idea but still what I am able to figure out is maybe the charges on both become equal but I see that's not much to do with the potential or is it am I right ?

nishantve1 said:
I am new to Electrostatics …

ok, well, always start with the definitions, then write out all the equations you know, and see if any of them help …

(btw, that is why the pf homework template requires you to write out the equations first, and please post in the homework sub-forum in future)

DEFINITION:

what is electric potential?

what does it do?​

EQUATIONS:

what equations do you know for electric potential?​

Sorry , next time I will definitely post in homework sub forum

Electric potential I know is Work done per charge in bringing it from infinity to a point .
Electric potential is Like gravitational potential it The closer a test charge is to a electric field source more potential energy it has and thus more Electric potential .
Electrons flow from higher to lower potential that's what makes electricity flow V(a) - V(b) = integral from a to b E.dl

E = -dV/dr

V = E.d

Due to a point charge at a distance R the electric potential is Q/4 pi Epsilno0 R

nishantve1 said:
Electric potential I know is Work done per charge in bringing it from infinity to a point .