Why the Universe is accelerating as it is expanding

In summary: This is the "gravitational constant" (G), which is a number that describes the strength of the force of gravity between masses. It is a universal constant, meaning that it doesn't change with time or location....decays, allowing time to accelerate.That's right, the "universal gravitational constant" (G) decreases over time, which allows time to "accelerate" (i.e., speed up) relative to the rate at which the gravitational constant decays.
Zero Ryoko
Hello all,

thank you for taking the time to read this post, i appologise if it is in the wrong section, as i am new to this.

Why did people just invent Dark Energy to explain the accelerating expansion of the universe? I propose another idea that doesn't rely on fudging numbers to explain observation. As i understand things, space/time can be altered by gravity (warping) it. So objects near to a massive object appear to slow down (Time Dilation i believe?). As i understand, the universe is a measurable size, so it only contains a finite amount of matter (unless the Universe exists in a Steady State?). In the same way that a star collapsing becomes more dense, and consequently warps space/time more. Could you not argue that the Universe is like a star collapsing in reverse? Thus the Universe is becoming less dense, so altering how the universe as a whole warps its own space/time. Effectively what we measure as an increase in the speed of expansion, could be the fact that as the universe expands time flows (for want of a better term) faster. What I am surgesting is that looking at the Universe from the outside it would be an expanding bubble, increasing at a steady rate. Inside our space/time expands, the universal gravitational constant decreases, allowing time to accelerate.

I'm sorry if I'm not explaining very well, I'm not a physicist, so would welcome any observation pointing out obvious mistakes.