Why Must Quantum Physics Involve Discrete Quanta?

• Thread starter TGlad
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Quanta
In summary: Joule. The reason for the quantization of energy levels and particle angular momenta in quantum theory is due to the fact that nature itself has no "need" to be like it is; it is our problem to understand how it works. Historically, physicists introduced quanta in order to explain some incoherencies in classical theories, such as the black body radiation and the ultraviolet catastrophe. However, this is just the way quanta were introduced in physics. One cannot derive quantum mechanics from some fundamental principle; it is based on observations and experiments. The quantization of energy levels and angular momenta is often a result of boundry conditions, such as in the case of photons in
TGlad
Hello, I am fairly new to quantum physics, I am trying to understand where discrete quanta come from...

I think that energy levels and particle angular momenta (and momentum?) are all quantised in quantum theory. Is there a simple explanation of why there must be discrete levels... is it some sort of unavoidable property of classical physics that it must be quantised at small scales... or is quantum theory just matching observed data at small scales?

I'm looking for a sort of intuitive and simple explanation of the core reason why there must be quanta and not a continuum.

Thanks for any help.

Physics news on Phys.org
Questions like yours usually don't have an answer. Hustorically speaking, physicists (actually, Planck was the very first) needed to introduce quanta in order to explain some incoherencies in classical theories (for example the black body radiation and the ultraviolet catastrophe).
But this is just the way quanta were introduced in physics, the real reason of existence of the quanta is just that nature is like that! Nature has no "need" to be like it is, is our problem to understand how it works.