Why is Word Constantly Requesting a Virus Scan?

• Thread starter DaveC426913
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Virus
In summary: I do maintain a spare box. I'll presume if auto-protect is on, then its probably scanning on execution.. So anything you open will be scanned first. I am guessing a bit, but this is how McAfee works...
DaveC426913
Gold Member
I'm trying to open a doc that I have already scanned with Norton AV.

Upon opening, Word is "requesting virus scan". Well, it's been doing that for a few minutes now...

What gives? I don't care if it scans it ten times but it seems to be stuck. I don't think its request has been met by NAV.

Computer science news on Phys.org
Do you have your scanner settings such that it scans on execution?

Uh I dunno. You mean how I have NAV set up? I don't know. All I see is Auto-protect status is ON.

You know, I liked to consider myself at least a little bit computer savvy (you, know, being a software developer by profession), but I just can't keep up with spyware and virus protection stuff. I don't know if I've got the right s/w, I don't know if I'm protected agianst this or that or what. I've got NAV on my system ,and I've just installed paretologic's Xoftspy, which didn't help so I've installed Adaware.

I honestly have no idea how less savvy people manage at all. I guess they just pay through the nose and have their local computer store do everything for them...

Last edited:
I honestly have no idea how less savvy people manage at all. I guess they just pay through the nose and have their local computer store do everything for them...
yeap

I'll presume if auto-protect is on, then its probably scanning on execution.. So anything you open will be scanned first. I am guessing a bit, but this is how McAfee works...