Why is it easier to snap a longer rod than a shorter one?

• Thread starter hdusr783
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Rod
In summary, The ease of snapping a longer rod compared to a shorter rod of the same material is due to leverage. The longer rod has a greater distance between the two forces reacting to each other, resulting in a greater bending moment and making it easier to snap. This concept also applies to rattlesnake rattles, as the lateral load increases with length, making them more susceptible to snapping over time. However, this information may be difficult to find through a simple Google search and may require further research and knowledge on the subject of physics.
hdusr783
I'm a complete newbie to physics, just wanted an answer to something.

Why is it easier to snap a longer rod compared to that of a smaller rod of the same material?

Is it just down to greater torque applied with respect to the longer rod?

I have tried to google it but it doesn't come up with anything with any substance, maybe i need to improve on my google'ing!

Also for example with a rattlesnakes rattle, after many years sometimes it snaps (possibly from hitting it against things etc). But am i right in saying that it would be the lateral load in the motion of the rattle that causes it to get weaker also? and does the lateral load typically increase with length?

Engineering news on Phys.org
It is all about leverage.

The greater the distance between two forces reacting to each other, the greater the bending moment.

Related to Why is it easier to snap a longer rod than a shorter one?

1. Why does the length of a rod affect its snapping ability?

The length of a rod affects its snapping ability because it determines the amount of force needed to bend and ultimately break the rod. Longer rods have a greater surface area and are more susceptible to bending, making them easier to snap than shorter rods.

2. Is the material of the rod a factor in its snapping ability?