Why is energy-momentum tensor Lorentz invariant?

In summary: Covariant has two different meanings, depending on whether you're talking about a tensor or a vector.
Bibipandi
I'm studying General Relativity and facing several problems. We know that energy-momentum must be Lorentz invariant in locally inertial coordinates. I am not sure I understand this point clearly. What is the physics behind?

Physics news on Phys.org
It's not. It's covariant.

Dickfore said:
It's not. It's covariant.

I don't know the answer--I'm just learning too--but I don't think this is it! Covariant is just a more confusing word for the same thing. It's more confusing, because it has two meanings, whereas invariant has one.

If a tensor is invariant under a specified transformation, its value is unchanged by that transformation (although the components of its coordinate representation may change); so if you apply a Lorentz transformation to your tangent vectors, and the corresponding inverse Lorentz transformation to cotangent vectors, then let a cotangent vector act on a tangent vector to give a real number, it will be the same number as if you hadn't applied the transformations.

Traditionally, covariant could mean the same as invariant (I think this is the meaning Dickfore has in mind), e.g. covariant derivative. But it can also mean mean, of a tensor, having valence (0,q), where q is some positive integer, e.g. covariant vector = covector, dual vector, cotangent vector, linear functional, linear form, 1-form. The opposite of covariant sense 1 is coordinate dependent / frame dependent. The opposite of covariant sense 2 is contravariant, i.e. having valence (p,0), where p is some positive integer, as a tangent vector does.

Bibipandi said:
I'm studying General Relativity and facing several problems. We know that energy-momentum must be Lorentz invariant in locally inertial coordinates. I am not sure I understand this point clearly. What is the physics behind?