Why don't we see a lot of matter around black holes? And can we observe it?

In summary, the phenomenon of time dilation and length contraction can be explained by the relationship between velocity and time, where the higher the velocity, the slower time passes. This has been demonstrated through various thought experiments, but it is not a strong field for the speaker. Additionally, there is a phenomena of galaxies moving away from each other, known as "dark energy," which has been linked to the Big Bang theory. However, the speaker has not heard of any galaxies moving at a speed greater than the speed of light.
Stargazer43
Hello! I just want to start off by saying that I am no physicist or astronomer, so my apologies if my questions are really basic lol (although I am an engineer so I do have some technical background). I am very interested in it though, and I had some questions that I was hoping someone could clear up! Thanks in advance for any information provided!

1. I have read that if an object falls into a black hole, then to an outside observer it will appear to take an infinite amount of time to reach the event horizon and always appear to be outside of the black hole. My question is, if this is true, then why do we not see a huge amount of matter surrounding black holes? (I assume we don't since I have never seen any mention of it) Is it that our telescopes are not powerful enough to observe it directly, or perhaps some other reason?