Why don't fluorescent bulbs blow up when electricity is connected?

• Thread starter supak111
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Electricity
In summary: The ballast limits the current going through the bulb, and this, in turn, limits the amount of heat that can be generated.
supak111
Why don't fluorescent bulbs blow up when electricity is connected? My understanding is that gas inside heats up to plasma to make light. Wouldn't the heat of plasma expand the gas, add extra pressure and the pressure would break the glass? Maybe super low pressure inside the bulb to start with?

Physics news on Phys.org
I'm a noob myself, so I'm not sure about your question. However, I got this off Wikipedia:

"A fluorescent lamp tube is filled with a gas containing low pressure mercury vapor and argon, xenon, neon, or krypton. The pressure inside the lamp is around 0.3% of atmospheric pressure." http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fluorescent_lamp

Yea I found that after my post too. .3% is really nothing, this means most fluorescent bulbs are basically empty vacuum with tiny tiny bit of gas.

Aaaand they all use ballasts, which basically controls how much electricity goes through the bulb. So I'm guessing here since the electricity is limited so is the temp/pressure inside the bulb. In other words, ballast is controlling pressure inside the bulb indirectly. Which keeps the pressure from exceeding the pressure at which the bulb glass would blow up.

Learn something new everyday

supak111 said:
Yea I found that after my post too. .3% is really nothing, this means most fluorescent bulbs are basically empty vacuum with tiny tiny bit of gas.

Aaaand they all use ballasts, which basically controls how much electricity goes through the bulb. So I'm guessing here since the electricity is limited so is the temp/pressure inside the bulb. In other words, ballast is controlling pressure inside the bulb indirectly. Which keeps the pressure from exceeding the pressure at which the bulb glass would blow up.