Why Does Bra-Ket Notation Assume Linearity in Quantum Mechanics?

• Thread starter sliorbra
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Notation
In summary, the conversation discusses the use of bras and kets in quantum mechanics and the difference between the mathematicians' and physicists' notation for inner products. The mathematicians' definition is linear in the first variable, while the physicists' definition is linear in the second variable. The Riesz representation theorem is used to show that these two definitions are equivalent. However, in the rigged Hilbert space formulation, bras and kets can also be used in a generalized way for unbounded operators.
sliorbra
hello,

after some struggle,i finally understand these notations, but there is a problem.
i'm studying with "principles of quantum mechanics" [R. Shankar]. in the beginning of the chapter where he discusses 'bra-kets' he mentioned the axioms of inner product.
one of the axioms he mentioned [and used] is the following:

-<V|aW>=a<V|W> [where 'a' is a complex scalar, V and W are vectors]

My problem is this axiom assumes linearity with respect to the second term in the inner product, when until this book i encountered only with axiom who assumes linearity with respect to the first factor.

after reading why it is so comfortable to define the 'bra' space, i can understand the logic of the author, but it seems strange to me that he changed the axiom a little bit for the purposes of quantum mechanics.

Can anyone explain me what i have missed?

Physics news on Phys.org
Of all the books on the market, is this only one you could choose ? I don't have this book, but if what you say is right, then wow, it's not to be trusted. A good book at a middle level would be Bransden & Joachain <Quantum Mechanics>.