Why do we draw unbonded electrons in pairs?

• Thread starter Leoragon
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Electrons
In summary, the drawings you did are not accurate representations of the distribution of electrons in the molecule, but they are useful for keeping notes about the important things.
Leoragon
A little background: I'm only a high school student with some knowledge on Lewis dot structures. And I don't know much about the s orbitals or p orbitals or whatnot.

Why are there lone pairs? Shouldn't the electrons repel each other? Why do we draw them as pairs?

For example: carbon dioxide is drawn like this
CO222.png

Why don't we draw it like
CO22.png

or
CO2.png

or sulfur dioxide
SO2.png

Why not this?
SO22.png

Are the drawings just arbitrary and the original used for simplicity's sake?
Can all these drawings work?

Last edited:
Chemistry news on Phys.org
Electrons couple spin-spin inside their orbitals - thus: they tend to pair up. Inside a molecule, electrons are not static charges so all the diagrams are incorrect. However, if you work out the relative frces in the different configurations you drew, you'll find your drawings have the higher potential energy.

It's only a notation - not an accurate representation of the distribution of electrons in the molecule.

Simon Bridge said:
Electrons couple spin-spin inside their orbitals - thus: they tend to pair up. Inside a molecule, electrons are not static charges so all the diagrams are incorrect. However, if you work out the relative frces in the different configurations you drew, you'll find your drawings have the higher potential energy.

It's only a notation - not an accurate representation of the distribution of electrons in the molecule.
I don't quite understand. I read http://chemwiki.ucdavis.edu/Physica...Quantum_Number_.26_(s.2C_p.2C_d.2C_f)_Orbital and to my understanding a pair of opposite spin electrons can occupy an orientation of an orbital? Is that why we say they are pairs?