Why Do Simulated and Theoretical Soliton Collisions Differ?

In summary, the conversation discusses the collision of two solitons of the NLS equation, with the goal of plotting out exact solutions from R.S. Johnson's book. The speaker has used MATLAB to produce a graph but it differs slightly from the one in the book. They also inquire about the availability of standard animations for this type of collision and ask for references. The conversation ends with a question about checking the input function and trying other packages for plotting.
hanson
Hi all.
I am studying the collision of two solitons of the NLS equation.
Actually I just want to plot out the exact solutions given in R.S.Johnson's book. (page 321, figure 4.4).
I have used MATLAB to do this and produced the figure using exactly the same values for the parameters.
However, the produced graph is a little bit different from that in R.S.Johnson's book during collision.
I am wondering what's wrong.

Is there any standard animation available in the internet for the collision of two NLS solitons? This sounds very standard, but I can hardly find any...
Will you have any reference?

Physics news on Phys.org
Did you check that the function which you input is in fact a solution of the NLS? Did you try plotting/checking it using another package such as Maple or Mathematica?

Hello,

The collision of two NLS solitons is a complex and fascinating topic in nonlinear optics. It is not uncommon to see slight differences in the plots generated by different software programs, so it is possible that the discrepancy between your plot and R.S. Johnson's may be due to a difference in the numerical methods used.

I would suggest checking your code and parameters carefully to ensure that they match those used in the book. Also, it may be helpful to consult with other researchers or experts in this field to see if they have encountered similar issues and can provide guidance.