Why do professors rush to publish papers?

• Thread starter phrygian
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Papers
In summary, professors are in a rush to publish papers to gain recognition and tenure. This is done to ensure their research is productive and used to justify research proposals. Fame and fortune are very rare outcomes of publishing papers.
phrygian
As an undergrad, I understand my motivations for my group publishing papers: that my name could be on one which would help me get into grad school; similar to the motivations of an assistant professor hoping to get tenure.

Everyone I meet seems in a rush to get good results and publish them. My question is, why would a tenured professor be in a rush to publish papers? Is it a matter of pride and fame, or do you get money when you publish a paper? When a professor makes an extremely useful discover, does he get paid any more than his salary from the University?

Physics news on Phys.org
Publishing papers means the research program is productive. Data contained within published papers also are used to justify research proposals, which provide funding for labs- both supplies and students.

*very* rarely, a published paper leads to fame and fortune.

Rushing for papers is serious disease that has infected science.
We're now judged by the number of published papers, but weighted by the quality of the journal and further adjusted by another factor that measures how many times your paper is cited, etc...
I'm quite sure very famous names would have passed modern standards.

It used to be a means for "advertising" what you did, putting your work out in hope that it could become useful in the future. Now its mostly a cockshow, especially for students.

Gordianus said:
Rushing for papers is serious disease that has infected science.
We're now judged by the number of published papers, but weighted by the quality of the journal and further adjusted by another factor that measures how many times your paper is cited, etc...