Why Can We Use This Mathematical Formula for Mean Value of Measurement?

In summary, for the mean value of measurement in quantum mechanics, we use the expectation value of a self-adjoint operator representing the measurable quantity and the wave-function expressed in the basis of eigenstates of that operator. This is related to the Born rule and is based on two fundamental postulates of quantum theory. It is also similar to the classical statistical physics concept of mean value.
ofirg55
TL;DR Summary
mean value of measurement
Hi,
I'm new to the quantum world, and would like to know why mathematically can we say that for mean value of measurment:
<T>=<phi|T|phi>
?

Physics news on Phys.org
ofirg55 said:
Summary:: mean value of measurment

Hi,
I'm new to the quantum world, and would like to know why mathematically can we say that for mean value of measurment:
<T>=<phi|T|phi>
?
That's quite close to an axiom of QM. It's related to the Born rule that identifies the probability of measurement outcomes with the operator representing the measureable and the wave-function expressed in the basis of eigenstates of that operator.

Does what I've written make sense to you?

Likes atyy and vanhees71
It rests on two fundamental postulates of quantum theory.

To describe a physical system within quantum theory you have a Hilbert space.

(1) An observable ##T## of the system are described by self-adjoint operators ##\hat{T}##. The possible results of measuring accurately the observables are the eigenvalues of that operator. The eigenvectors span a complete set of orthornormal vectors.

(2) A pure state of a system is described by a vector ##|\psi \rangle## with ##\langle \psi|\psi \rangle## (modulo a phase factor). If ##t## is an eigenvalue of ##T## and ##|t,\lambda \rangle## an orthonormal set of eigenvectors for this eigenvector, then
$$P(t) =\sum_{\lambda} |\langle t,\lambda|\psi \rangle|^2$$
is the probability to obtain ##t## when measuring ##T##.