Why are spherical instruments not more common?

In summary, the conversation discusses the potential use of spherical instruments in music and why they are not as common as other shapes such as cylindrical or figure-of-8. The participants mention the importance of boundary conditions and the presence of symmetries in determining the suitability of a shape for a musical instrument. They also mention the use of spherical harmonics in various fields of physics and the potential for spherical instruments in creating unique sounds. However, the conversation also raises questions about the practicality and limitations of using a spherical instrument.
Alimuir
When it comes to waves, spherical harmonics are, like, da bomb. I'm no expert - probably obvious from the question - but it seem to me that an instrument which maximises the utilisation of harmonics/resonances would be spherical.

And yet, I can think of no spherical instruments - the most ubiquitous is the "figure-of-8" shape of most stringed instruments, and the quasi-cylindrical shape of woodwind/pipe instruments. Both shapes clearly have strong harmonic modes, but why is the sphere not equally prolific a shape upon which to model an instrument?

Physics news on Phys.org
Seems to me, the issue would have to do with how you would set the boundary conditions.
I can see two 0-dimensional ends of a 1-dimensional string
and a 1-dimensional boundary of a 2-dimensional drumhead.

Alimuir said:
When it comes to waves, spherical harmonics are, like, da bomb. I'm no expert - probably obvious from the question - but it seem to me that an instrument which maximises the utilisation of harmonics/resonances would be spherical.

Why would you think that? What makes spherical geometry more special than others? Cylindrical harmonics, etc. are equally useful. That's why we have the flute, recorder, etc. The cavity in an acoustic guitar is definitely not spherical.